Opinion on Tires for a Tow Vehicle?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinion on Tires for a Tow Vehicle?

I'm still new to boating - I've only had my 230 for 2.5 years. When I got my boat, I also got a new tow vehicle and I've only towed my boat with this vehicle. Point being, my tires were brand new and now that I have 36k miles on my car, my tires need replaced. Couple of questions:

I assume the accelerated wear is due to my towing my boat. Have others experienced this? I expected to get 45k to 50k out of my OEM tires. Although, it seems the new trend that OEM tires always get much lower mileage than your replacement set. I have a 2016 Toyota Seq - Platinum - 20" rims so these tires are expensive.

I need to replace the tires. Any suggestions on a replacement tire that might get a longer wear? On some of the Towing strings, I've noticed people mentioning certain tires that are better for towing heavier loads, but thought I would ask for suggestions here.

I typically tow my boat about 50 miles each weekend and then a couple of times a year I tow it 500 miles to Norris (roundtrip).

Thanks in advance!

What kind of tire came OEM on the seq.? Some factory tires are junk! I've experienced no noticeable wear difference when towing with a quality tire. I've had excellent luck with Michelin both towing and not. Currently on my 2500 Ram I'm running Nitto Trail Grapplers and they seem to be fine. I believe they are an E load rating. Not sure what your options are for your size with a 20" wheel, but I'm betting that's a low profile tire with not many options.
    2018 SAN 230
    1981 Ski Nautique
    Sold - 2011 Sport 200V
    Sold - 2000 SAN

Comment

If you're looking for an all terrain, I've always gotten the best mileage out of BFG's all terrains.

Comment

Originally posted by markj View Post
        If you're looking for an all terrain, I've always gotten the best mileage out of BFG's all terrains.