Ronix One boards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ronix One boards

So got a chance to look at the Ronix One Timebomb vs. the One ATR. Timebomb has a diffferent core but other than that they are both the same board (albeit graphics). Weighed them both and the Timebomb is nearly a pound lighter than the ATR. To me that seems like a lot, but I am coming from riding an older ERA Ruck board.
    I do little more than wake to wake with a rare 360 and like a double up boot every once in a while too. What's the thought on that much weight difference? I know I rode a another lighter board of a friends and the difference was for sure noticeable. Maybe I am just being too picky...

I’ll start by confessing that I am a beginner rider and can only do W2W Hs currently. But I have been researching boards as of late as I am in the market for a new board and the Ronix TB and HL Murray are the two I landed on. However, the new 2019 Ronix RXT also has my attention.

Anyway, the extra weight of the ATR will probably only be a hindrance if you’re capable of 9’s or have sized up so dramatically that the board’s weight is very high relative to the weight of a board of more conventional sizing. And even that is debatable. If guys like you and I need a lighter board to land a 3, then chances are we can make significantly more gains by improving technique than reducing board weight. That’s my opinion anyway, right, wrong or otherwise.

I think the TB has more than a weight advantage for really good riders and that is the pop it gives relative to the ATR, which has nothing to do with weight but rather, construction. Personally I think at our beginner to intermediate level, we wouldn’t get any benefit from a TB. Rocker and other features will be more of a consideration. Only reason I am considering a TB over the ATR is that I want the green bottom on it. Lol

Good luck!

Comment