DIY - Vinyl Interior

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DIY - Vinyl Interior

This is my first project post on this forum, so bare with me as I go through it. I decided to take on making and replacing some of my vinyl due to age and wear and tear. I will try to detail as much as possible for those who would like try this for themselves. I knew going into this that my work wasn't going to be perfect, but I started with the basics and continued to work through each piece. Overall, I am happy with the outcome.

Tools:

Machine - Singer 15-91 Sewing Machine - This is a 1953 piece and has a gear motor (ie. not belt driven). I would recommend finding a professional machine if you want to sew foam backed vinyl and do a lot of top stitching. I found that www.leatherworker.net was very helpful in finding the best machine.

Material - I worked with www.garysupholstery.com for most of the vinyl. I ended up going with the Nautolex Capitano line. I ordered about 10 square yards to do the backrest, sundeck and three bow cushions. Luckily, I only used about six yards. The original material is foam backed vinyl, but I didn't think my machine would handle it and it was $25.00 a yard. I decided to start with regular marine vinyl.

Foam - I reused all my foam. It was a little condensed, but I decided to minimize effort due to time constraints.

Thread and Needle - Used outdoor V-92 polyester thread from www.sail-rite.com with a size 20 needle.

Patterns - Making a correct pattern is about half of the work. I was able to use the pieces from the original upholstery, but a lot of times I had to use the actual foam part of the cushion to get the shape. Most of my mistakes were from cutting the wrong patterns.